From a young adult’s point of view

I was having a discussion with my 18 year old son as we were walking into Church. He said “Dad, remember when we came to Church that one Saturday at 6:00 a.m. and met with a group of parishioners to plant flowers, trees and bushes and to clean the outside area around the Church?” My response was a hesitant yes, not understanding where this discussion was going. He said “we worked together, met new people, had fun and saved the Church money by the work we did and the donations we made.” He also reflected “this was when I became a Steward Dad” and although this was six years ago (and he was 12) I was surprised at his reflection. But what he said next brought tears to my eyes: “Dad, every time we walk into Church, those plants will be a reminder of that day, our time together and my opportunity to work for my Church as a Steward” And I thought, every time I walk into the Church, I remember what Christ did for me and my family, His Blessings, His Grace, my health and my opportunities and I was overcome with emotion to think about all the reminders Christ has provided for me, and how much more responsibility I must take for my Church as a Steward.

About mychristmycare

Guiding the Stewardship Committee, as part of the National Standing Committees of the Serbian Orthodox Church in North and South America.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

