Our life vs. that of a Saint…

Reflection from a parishioner…

Within the Scriptures, I focused on the Saints and what they accomplished for our Orthodox faith. They left their homes and families, they took very few supplies, they were hungry and cold, and at times, had no shelter to rest. On many occasions, they took their mission work to cities where they were not welcomed or provided with food and at times, imprisoned. They had one goal in mind and that was to bring the joy of Jesus Christ to the world and eternal life in His Heavenly Kingdom.
When I reflect upon their commitment and think about my Stewardship, there are three similarities between what they did versus what I must do. The Saints were focused on God, Jesus Christ and the teachings of the Church. I must focus on God and Jesus Christ as well with religious education as a priority. The Saints established Churches, missions and monasteries – all to provide the valuable ministries that I receive. I must continue to support my Church and it’s ministries with my Stewardship. The Saints had an undeniable faith in God, as the Father. I must strengthen my faith in God and work towards my personal salvation – knowing that God will provide for my every need.
Considering my Stewardship of Time, Talents and Treasures – I realized that God will one day judge whether I have been a good and faithful Steward of all that He has provided.

“The work of the Lord is our top priority – that is, the salvation of our souls”

St. Theophan the Recluse

 

About mychristmycare

Guiding the Stewardship Committee, as part of the National Standing Committees of the Serbian Orthodox Church in North and South America.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

