The rich and the poor

lazarusrichman008587wm__18323-1469225773-500-659A reflection from a Steward…

In Luke 16:19-31, we learn about the rich and the poor, all they had and didn’t have, one with an earthly reward and one with a Heavenly reward. As I read these verses and the reflection from the Holy Fathers, I thought about the rich man and all that God had blessed him with. The rich man chose not to be a good Steward and not to share any of his wealth with Lazarus – although he had an abundance of everything.

How many times do I walk by the homeless person? How often do I avoid making eye contact with the woman carrying the sign “Please Help Me” on the exit ramp if the highway? How many times do I pass judgment on the person in need when I should not? How many times do I say “I am just too busy to spend an hour at the homeless shelter?”

From this Gospel reading, I decided to change how I approach these situations, not just from the perspective of sharing what God has provided for me, but, from the thought that I will be judged based on what I have done and my Stewardship is part of my personal Salvation!

About mychristmycare

Guiding the Stewardship Committee, as part of the National Standing Committees of the Serbian Orthodox Church in North and South America.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

