OK – I cried!

I remember when I was a child, getting up early in the morning and going somewhere before the sun rose was a special moment. This was the same for my son, Christopher, when he was 11 years old. We woke up at 5:00 a.m. on a Saturday morning – a quick breakfast and then drove to Church. The day’s project focused on planting all new bushes, trees and flowers around the property. Not only was it fun to be up that early, but he thought it was great to be included. The volunteers were many – all Stewards – and the work was hard – planning, digging, removing, planting, fertilizing, mulching but what a great time we had.

The next day, as we walked past the gardens on the way to the Liturgy, Christopher stopped, looked at a section we worked on together and said “Dad, yesterday, I became a Steward and every day that I and others walk by the work we did, this will be my reminder” I tried to hide my tears – not sure how successful I was but I thanked God that at the age of 11, he now understood that Stewardship comes in many shapes and sizes and not just from a financial perspective.

About mychristmycare

Guiding the Stewardship Committee, as part of the National Standing Committees of the Serbian Orthodox Church in North and South America.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

